Happy Mother’s Day: A Message For the Motherless

happy-mothers-daynn

Happy Mother’s Day to all you wonderful mothers out there. Today is your day, live it up. Enjoy your time with your family. You deserve a day dedicated to you and all you do for those you love.

Mother’s Day is a happy day, even for those of us who’ve lost our mother. Sure I wake up, wishing I could see her smiling face. However, today I try not to focus on the pain and instead focus on all she did for me.

As a child, I remember waking up in the middle of the night to my mother still up. She’d finished everything she had to do for that day and was preparing for the next. I use to think mothers never slept.

I remember the smell of coffee in the morning. With eight children, I think coffee helped keep her sane. Now that I’m grown, I totally understand the magical affects of coffee.

I remember our family dinners. There was always so much laughter and joy and she was at the center of it. She taught us that family should always come first. I have a huge family and we’re still close. We still do family dinners and get-togethers. She started a tradition that we plan to keep for years to come.

I remember all those times she wouldn’t allow me to hang out with my friends, or go to a party. At the time, I thought her the meanest woman in the world. I mean, all the other girls were going to be at the party. Now that I’m grown, I understand that she was protecting me. And I’m so thankful that I had a mom who was more concerned with being my mother than being my friend.

But these are just memories. I will never get to experience any of this with her again. And it hurts so much. Yet, despite the pain and tears, I smile today and celebrate the life of the greatest woman I’ve ever met, my mother. Happy Mother’s Day in heaven, mom.

mothers day

Leave a Reply

