Grateful for my best friends. #Thanksgiving #Romance #chicklit

snuggleuphop

Welcome to the Thanksgiving Romance blog hop. Today I’m sharing with you what I’m grateful for this holiday season. I’m grateful for my besties, both friends I’ve known for years and those I’ve recently became besties with. Best friends help keep you humble, they keep you grounded. True best friends don’t mind telling you you’re wrong or telling you yes, those pants do make your butt look big. Sometimes best friends can be a pain in the you know what. But at the end of the day, they are always there when you need them. Today I’m sharing an excerpt from my holiday romance, Christmas Confusion. The besties in this Romantic Comedy remind me so much of me and my friends.

cc-cast

“Okay,” Greg continued. “The rules are simple. You can either choose truth or dare, but you can’t choose one or the other three times in a row. For instance, Bailey…”
“Hey,” Bailey said. “Why are you picking on me? What have I done now?”
“Nothing yet,” Greg said. “But I got a feeling you are going to try to choose truth every time it’s your turn.”
“I got that same feeling,” Krista said as she blew a strand of her black curly hair out of her face.
“I’m not going to choose truth every time,” Bailey said, even though that had been her initial plan. Both Krista and Greg looked at her like they didn’t believe her. “Whatever. Okay, so we can’t choose one or the other more than two times.”
“That’s right, Bailey. Now, if you choose truth, and refuse to answer the question, you have to take a shot.”
Bailey groaned. Were all of these rules created for her?
“And,” Greg continued, “If you do tell a truth but we feel it’s a lie, you have to take a shot.”
“Did you guys make up these rules with me in mind?” Bailey asked.
“I didn’t,” Krista responded. “These are Greg’s rules and I like them. Okay, so who goes first?”
“I’ll go first,” Greg volunteered. Bailey was glad he was going first. She was sure they were going to make her go first.
“So, truth or dare?” Krista asked Greg.
“Truth,” Greg responded.
Krista turned to her. “Do you want to ask him a question or should I?” Bailey had no idea why she was nervous, it was just a game.
“You ask,” she told Krista.
Krista stared at Greg seated across the table from them “So Greg, how long have you been into men?”
Bailey gasped, “Krista!”
“What?” Krista exclaimed as if nothing was wrong. Bailey knew she was blushing enough for the two of them.
“Calm down, Bailey,” Greg said. “That is the perfect way to start off truth or dare. Now the answer is… drum roll, please.” Krista began beating her hands against the table.
“I’ve been into men since I was about twelve.”
“Are you serious?” Bailey said, “Oops, sorry, that just kind of popped out on its own.” But twelve was a very young age to start liking boys; even for a girl it was too early to be into the opposite sex.
Greg laughed.
“Tell us about it,” Krista said.
“Nope, I’ve answered your question and now it’s my turn to ask a question.”
Oh, goody. “I think I need another shot,” Bailey said. She needed liquid courage to make it through this game. What if he asked her about Max, should she lie or be honest? She should definitely lie.
“Yay, shots. Pour me one.” Krista and Bailey both shoved their shot glasses in Greg’s face. He poured the vodka into their shot glasses before filling his own up.
“One, two, three, shot,” Krista said. They all pinched their noses and downed their drink. The vodka burned Bailey’s throat as it went down. She shook her head, forcing the fluid down her throat.
“I need a chaser,” Bailey said, her mouth felt extra dry.
“Rule number… whatever, no chasers,” Greg said.
“Are you serious?” Bailey asked.
“Yep, house rules. Now, it’s my turn. Bailey, what do you choose, truth or dare?”
“Um…” If she chose truth, they may ask her questions about Max; but, if she chose dare, they may try to get her to eat bugs or something like that. Max or bugs? Max it was. “Truth.”
“Yay.” Krista clapped her hands.
Greg stared at her with a slight smile on his face. “Remember, Bailey, be completely honest or you have to take a shot.”
Bailey nodded her head, completely honest, yeah right.
“Bailey Cooper, do you have feelings for Max, be them emotional or physical?”
I have both, every day, all day. It’s all I think about.
With a straight face, Bailey lied. “No, I do not.” She enunciated each word carefully, hoping that would make her statement sound more believable.
“Liar,” Krista yelled beside her, pointing an accusatory finger in Bailey’s face.
“Krista,” Bailey exclaimed; she was supposed to be on her side.
“Now, you have to take a shot, Bailey,” Greg shrugged. “Sorry, house rules.” She was so gonna get Krista back for this.

ljkij

~Bailey Cooper has fallen in love – sadly the man she’s in love with already has a man. Sounds complicated doesn’t it? ~
Bailey Cooper is very much attracted to her neighbor, Max Davis. Unfortunately for Bailey, Greg – Max’s lover, is slowly becoming one of Bailey’s best friends. Bailey’s emotions are torn. She adores Greg’s friendship while at the same time she craves Max’s touch.
What’s a girl to do when she ‘thinks’ the man she’s in love with is in love with someone else?
Max Davis and his baby brother Greg Davis are co-owners of the apartment building they live in. Max has fallen for his tenant, Bailey, but she avoids and ignores all of his advances. It doesn’t take long for him to become suspicious of the friendship blooming between Greg and Bailey. He believes Bailey has a crush on his brother, but Max wants his shy little neighbor all to himself. Now he has to think of ways to keep Bailey and Greg apart, which is ridiculous since Greg isn’t even in to women. Time to break that news to his neighbor and hope it causes her attention to swing his way.
Will a holiday weekend full of chaos, confusion and a little bit of charm finally get Bailey and Max on the right track? Or will a few innocent caresses lead to more Christmas confusion?

cc2015cover

Christmas Confusion Buy Links:
Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NHZ4ES4
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Christmas-Confusion-Monica-Garry-Allen-ebook/dp/B00NHZ4ES4/

~A look at me and my besties.~

toriatomekia

DSC_5297

nm1

nm3

amc1

amc77

Be sure to follow the other blogs participating in this blog hop!

clickhere_ani

Leave a Reply

